[NSFW] 1/6 Kusugawa Sasara (black samurai version) Review by Daiki Kougyou

Welcome Kusugawa-san to my collection! Made by Daiki, she is the first I have from that company and probably the last, until I see something that I like from them again (though I am interested in one Suzumiya Haruhi figure). She is also my second cast off figure.

Ah… my love for Japanese traditional clothing can never stop, can it? Samurai, kimono, yukata… sigh. Well here I am, caved in an order of a beautiful figure. What does she have to offer?
Well, she is huge, for one. She wields some sort of sword and has beautiful samurai clothing (the hakama & obi).

For those who are unfamiliar with Sasara, she originates from the series called To Heart 2.

“Sasara is a new heroine who appears in the releases subsequent to the PlayStation 2 version. She is one school year older than the protagonist and the student council vice-president and later the president. She has a cold demeanor and strict attitude and as a result, her only friend is Māryan. When it is time for Ma-ryan to graduate, Sasara is saddened because her only friend would be leaving her and even tries to convince Māryan not to graduate. Takaaki becomes acquainted with her after he is chosen to be a volunteer to help the student council with an event, but when Sasara becomes president, she appoints him as vice-president. While working with Takaaki in the student council she begin developing her crush on him.”

Right… are you worried about her scale? She is definitely big for a 1/6 scaled figure, even next to my 1/6 scaled figure (right) since it kind of creates an illusion that Xiao Mei is tiny since she’s sitting down. My 1/8 scaled figure is of course small in comparison to them.

Hmmm. I wish the figure had the same face as the illustration. She looks a lot more serious or neutral, compared to the figure, which suits Sasara’s character description.

Comparing our figure with the original illustration, in case you were wondering, I have the black samurai version. I have to admit that the details and shadows/highlight were better on the original coloring, but I wasn’t too fond of the pink/purple color combination. For some reason, the black/blue version was just much more appealing and gave her a bad ass look instead of a sweetie cutie pie feeling.

I think it’s safe to say that the figure is close to the illustration.  The only noticeable difference would be that the sword is longer, her eyes seem more blue, and that her hair color seems a bit more ashy than a bright blonde.

Okay, we shall now look at her head looking at her face and hair in details.

Sasara has bright blue eyes just starin’ right at ya. She has a cute nose and a pout that’s not quite like a duck face (thank goodness!). She looks rather surprised. I wonder what she has just witnessed? She has this very subtle blush that’s not noticeable from far, but you do see the pink strokes when you get closer, which doesn’t really bother me at all. Though, I wish she had a “real blush”. She really looks great from any angle (I somehow like her side view).

Her hair is well shaded; there are shadows at the ends of hair like where they should be. Though, I have to admit that they put way too much shadow on her left fringe (the whole area is covered in shadow) rather than precisely shading the ends of the hair. The back of her hair really looks voluminous! Very nicely sculpted. The top of her head looks very nice as well since her hair seams are well hidden under her crown. To add, her black hairband/ribbon is detailed.

Now that we have looked at her whole head, let’s move downwards.

Sasara wears a samurai outfit with a dark grey top, light grey sash, and a dark blue hakama. With her wrists wrapped up in bandages to strengthen her wrist, she wields a katana.

The paint job is decent. The shadows are in the right places and there isn’t too much over-painting done (though the job between the edges of the sash and the top is poorly done). The sculpt is nice as well, her grey top really looks like it has been tucked tightly around the middle but as she moves around, the cloth starts to move around and loosen up.

Now, I have a problem with the hakama. In the original version, the purple gradient shading is much more obvious and I wish they done the same effort with the re-coloring of the black version (blue hakama). There is a gradient, but it’s VERY subtle. Also, the hakama is glossy. It doesn’t really make sense. Why would a hakama be shiny? Maybe the company thought she’d look cooler, but I certainly didn’t agree with their final decision.
Anyways, the hakama has very nice cloth folds here and there, and it looks very nice.
Upon closer inspection, the flower prints on her sash and hakama is clear and makes her outfit less plain. On top of her sash, there’s this bright blue ribbon around, which I’m disappointed about. No matter what I do, the plastic does not rest downwards, but perks forward against gravity when it’s supposed to be draped downwards. It’s made of soft PVC so I’m sure an expert can shape it back properly. I’m no expert, so I’m really just leaving mine half-floating like that.
Her shoes are also nice. I know it sort of sounds silly, but they actually look like real socks with all those folds near the ankle. I think it would have been even better if you could see a subtle outline of her toes! Last, but not least… the bandages on her wrist are shaded nicely, but I wish they were sculpted more  precisely. It looks like as if it melted. But, do note her pretty pearly pink nail polish!

I did mention that she is a cast off figure, so here comes the nudes.
Obviously, section below will not be safe for work, so beware!
I’ll be showing cast off details before moving on just to give you some time to [x] out.

The difference between my first cast off figure and this one, is that I didn’t really have to break off anything off her but to remove her head. Her arms were removable but I never did since her bra was so soft I was able to squeeze it out. Even though her arms were removable, they were shut so tightly so I didn’t bother. Besides, her arms look nice as they are right now.

On the other hand, Sasara needs lots to hard work. I was really lost… I had no idea how to cast her off, ha! I am a newbie, afterall.

You need to remove her head, remove her arms, remove her sash, remove her top, then finally, removing her hakama. The toughest part was to pull her out of her hakama, and as a result of my struggle, it left a dark light stain on her legs. Sob.

I scratched the blue ribbon thinger by accident because I was too dumb to figure out how to open it. Aaand I have long nails.

The head fights like a tight glove, just the right fit! Her arms, unfortunately, kind of loosen up with time and you’ll notice the gaps eventually. The hakama and the top closes nicely (though there is a minor sculpt flaw on the top). The sash has an annoying gap that I can’t stop staring at since it’s a bright color. I mean, all the cast off parts have gaps, but they’re not noticeable until you stare at them up close.

Now, we’ll observe the sculpt of her body.

Sasara is in a static pose where she looks elegant, holding onto her katana firmly.

She really has a nice body but I think she’s a bit too skinny around the upper body. You can clearly see her ribcage and it can be slightly disturbing to some individuals. When I stretch like her, my ribcage isn’t as appearant as hers unless I suck my stomach in. Ah, maybe Sasara was self conscious of her stomach and sucked it in…
This may sound a bit random, but I like her knees. They’re very cute, haha.

Other than her prominent ribcage, she has a sharp collarbone which I’m attracted to. She also has huge breasts. They’re not massive, but very round and heavy. I like the way how they sort of slope downwards like a natural large breast, but not so much that they look sort of… old. Additionally, her nipples are glossy! I really, really, liked that touch. Very alluring…

Sasara wears some kind of black bikini g-string pantsu that’s not worth mentioning. Though, there are details such as the cloth being bunched tightly in the front. I can’t find the exact words, so excuse me for that poor description. Her butt looks really toned.

Her base is really just a simple black circle plate. Nothing special. Just plain.

Overall, she really has nice curves and I do believe that she is very enjoyable naked. I personally prefer her clothed, which is why I bought her in the first place.
I also think that oriental-clothing and samurai enthusiasts would love to own Kusugawa Sasari, so you should really think about it and give her a try. She does have her flaws, but I believe that her pros outweigh her cons. As a newbie figure collector, I really can’t say that her cast off is great. I do hope to own more cast off figures in the future for further cast off experiments xD

She is currently on sale @ Amiami.

One thought on “[NSFW] 1/6 Kusugawa Sasara (black samurai version) Review by Daiki Kougyou

  1. Hmm. I like the serene expression. However on a critical note, I think it would have been nice if they used the subtle colors in the original illustration on her gi and hakama (hakama=pleated pants) as those worked better for contrast with her rather pretty blue eyes.

    You’re absolutely right, the gloss on the nipples is a fantastic touch! Also, she’s got a hell of a muffin, no? ‘cloth being bunched in the front’ is a pretty accurate description. I would have rather they modeled that a bit more though, as I’m a bit of a cameltoe fan. :3 Also the G-string could have been more ornate considering it’s modeled in and not removable.

    I like it that the rib cage has definition, but not to the point where you can count the ribs, as that’s usually the threshold where I tend to get grossed out. 😀 It’s also good that she’s got some shape to her belly rather than it being totally flat like some figures and illustrations are. Women are supposed to have that. It drives me crazy when people lament that area of their midriff ’cause if that’s not there, something is wrong.

    Overall I really like the quiet strength to the character. She’s certainly a lady, but she’s got some steel to her too, and that’s very attractive.

    Thanks for the review Vanichu!

Leave a Reply

