1/7 Inia Sestina review by Kotobukiya

Figure I’d do a quick review before I go to bed. I feel guilty for writing reviews so slowly… I can’t wait til for my summer vacation. Time to play catch up with reviews!

I’d also like to mention that I’ve received a second hand DSLR camera. The upside is that I am able to take really smooth pictures at the cost of not being able to macro as well as my Sony Cybershot. Not to mention, pictures are blurrier because there is no stability function on the lens, so bear with me until I get new lenses and a tripod.

So, who’s this lovely? She’s Inia Sestina, apparently from a sci-fi genre game or manga (not sure which one came first), followed by an anime adaption which I have not watched yet. The show is pretty popular as many of the characters are getting figure treatments, so maybe I’ll watch it some day over the summer… we shall see. I mean, the characters are pretty hot and/or cute. Plugsuits, anyone?

Operating the tandeam-seat Su-37UB Terminator with Cryska, their combined ability allows them to overwhelm the pilots of other countries, but despite the bloody nature of combat, she remains immature in appearance and behaviour.

I wish I could give you a more accurate picture of her personality, but that’s all I can find for now :<

The box is really normal. Nothing special, rather boring. There’s only a regular rectangle cut out in the front with the original illustration on the back. On both sides, there is a small window shaped like a mickey mouse head… I remember reading on Wiki something about her teddy bear, so maybe it’s to represent it or something.

Koto decided to put some sticky plastic protector all over and in between Inia. It wasn’t really fun trying to take it off because it was sort of gripping onto her. Just be careful when you pull the plastic off from underneath her hair.

You can tell she’s really different from her original illustration. It’s going to take me a long time to write them all, so your eyes can be the judge. The only thing that is accurate would be the super curly hair near her butt and her torso (minus breasts). Even though they don’t really look alike, the figure is fine in my opinion.

Let’s start the review! Head on first 😀

I think her lips won me over. It looks so soft and real! I appreciate it when sculptors decide to give their models lips. Though, I’m an upperlip fan too, so hopefully we’ll see more of that (hurrah for Toda Satoshi!).

Her eyes are anime cute. Nothing I have to say in particular. I do love the blush on her cheeks, though! It’s perfect! Not too dark, not too light, just enough to subtly show the blush streaks. I don’t mind her button nose either. At least it’s prominent!

The mold lines are well hidden on her hair! Good job, Koto. Only if you were more consistent… (frowns).

Inia’s hair is shaped like a flower. It sort of just blooms downwards. The hair was actually the biggest factor that rendered the surrender of my wallet xD The hair color was a bonus, too. The hair is pretty well done.  Hair strands are sharp (especially her hangs) and the sculptor tried to naturally spread her hair freely around her left butt which is really nice. Doesn’t look too stiff. Oh, and her hair is pearly. The only complaint I would have would have would be the paint job. If you look back at the picture of the back of her hair, you can see that shadows are blotchy and being sprayed on too hard/harsh. It almost looks randomly sprayed on. The artists should have been more careful (or whoever’s overseeing the project should have cared!).

Another thing to add is the horrible paint specks that are spread throughout the figure here and there. Inia came pretty dirty in her box, and I had to scratch off some tiny tiny black dot on her face with an exacto knife (lightly). Sigh. Kotobukiya! This is not the first time!

At least, when taking pictures or viewing from shelf distance, you really don’t see it. I’m just really picky and have high standards.

Iniabody4

Inia is wearing some white pearly swimsuit paired along with long white pearly over-the-knee socks. (Here’s a variant: Blue.) Her outfit was actually the factor that delayed my purchase. I was thinking, “What? Swimsuit and socks? Umm, no.” Her head/hair and body pose really convinced me into buying her. Since I waited a couple months before buying her after her release date, I actually missed out on all the US store sales. Inia sold out everywhere except members who were selling her on MFC (where I got mine) and Japanese stores.

The folds on her bathing suit is average. The folds aren’t really natural looking, especially because they are spaced out pretty evenly. It’s not messy enough or crinkly enough, I guess. Funny thing is, she has three stretch folds on her breast and another three hear her pubic area (which doesn’t really make sense?).

Ah, the panty shot. I think Koto’s figures usually have a sculpted vulva, so nothing really extraordinary here.

Her body pose is… totally lovely!!! Another big factor why I bought Inia. It almost looks like she’s begging for something…
And her skin is soft… really complements her pearly hair and clothing.

This picture is to mainly show what Kotobukiya is good at. Gaps between parts. Almost all Koto figures I have so far have these gaps between thighs or parts and it’s pretty normal to Koto’s standards. So don’t be surprised when you see something similar to this. It’s nothing too big, but it’s noticeable for me (again, I am picky).
Also, underneath her thighs, her skin is pretty rough (another common Koto flaw). I guess they didn’t sand her down properly enough or something, but at least she’s sitting and you won’t be seeing it.

As for paint job, I mentioned earlier that there are tiny teeny paint specks at various places. Kotobukiya’s quality control varies so, again, don’t be surprised. If you get a perfectly fine figure, then it’s time to pray and say thank you 😛
Other than the flaws, there are some dark purple-ish shadows around some areas and it looks nice. Areas such as elbows, wrists, and thighs (near sock) have been shadowed as well for depth. Really like the work they did on her arms; looks nice and real. Also, there are no paint bleeds, so that’s really good!

Oh, and the base.
The base is only some round blue cushion, similar to what Koto has given to their Xiao Mei (but she has a square turquoise one instead). Cushion over plastic plate for me any day.

My verdict?

It’s worth it if you can find it at a decent price. There are some flaws, but that depends if you’re unlucky or not! If you really like the character design and the body pose, then I don’t see why you should stop yourself from adding yet another figure in your collection.
I don’t regret my purchase at all. In fact, she’s one of my favorites. I… am a sucker for sweet looking girls.

Sculpt finish : 8/10
Sculpt mold: 8.5/10
Paint: 9/10
Representation of character: 6/10 (according to picture); and I’m unfamiliar with the character.

Explanation of my rating system:

“Sculpt finish” specifically refers to the finish of the figure. Whether it’s perfect, smooth, rough or sandy.

“Sculpt mold” determines whether everything is sculpted to how it’s supposed to look. At its best, hair should have clean lines and pointy edges. Fingers do not look melted and feet do not look horrendous. Arms and legs should have definition and not look like straight piece of wood (unless it’s the style of the art). Also, seam lines should not be apparent as well.

“Paint” is pretty self explanatory. Paint should go wherever they were supposed to be painted on and should not have any spillovers.

“Representation of character” looks at whether the company and/or artist has accurately represented your character. Do the eyes seem off? Is that hair color right? Did they forget something on the outfit?

IMG_0949

IMG_0988

IMG_1002

3 thoughts on “1/7 Inia Sestina review by Kotobukiya

  1. So we meet again Inia Sestina, hehe well I was very interested in her as she was availabe, I even had her in the shopping cart, but in the end I canceled her because of piling up preorders 😦 Now I regret it again, she is so cute.

    The face is closer to the anime appearance I would say, it was an interesting anime btw, it didn’t really match my expectations, but it was ennjoyable most of the time.

    I love the adorable design of the figure, be it the face with the details or the pose.
    The way her hair goes around the figure is so nice and I also like her outfit. Stockings with swimsuit is something I really like to see.

    maybe I’ll get her somewhere in this year

    Even though she’s not really flawless you gave her a fair judgement, nice review

    • I once also had her in my shopping cart but decided to not buy her because of the swimsuit xD
      Like you, I regret. If I had bought her then, she would have been a lot cheaper. I’m afraid her price would only keep rising the longer you wait!

      Just… stare at her face, get enchanted, and buy her right after :3

      I only wished the thigh socks weren’t eating away her skin. The gap is really noticeable. I wish Kotobukiya could improve in that area and I’d be willing to pay a little more because they’ve got great concepts.

      Thanks for reading & commenting!

  2. Aaah, you’ve noticed all the flaws that prevent me from gunning for Kotobukiya figures these days. The paint specks, the subpar shading, the multiple seam lines, and the gaps! Kotobukiya comes out with such lovely sculpts, but their lack of quality control is enough to make me think twice about their figures. Come on, Koto! A little more effort, and they could roll with the rest of the big boys.

    I debated getting Inia for a long while before finally deciding against it. Now every time I see her staring at me with those big eyes I feel a pang of regret. I’m not sure I can justify buying her in the after market (price increase included) after seeing all her little flaws. She’s cute and bodacious, but I don’t need her THAT bad, especially given my scant knowledge of her character. =P

Leave a Reply

