[NSFW] 1/8 Lucifer from The Seven Deadly Sins by Orchid Seed review

luintro

I was never a huge fan of demonic/devilish characters, but when I saw the character design for this one, my eyes became shiny and my heart started to itch. “What a beautiful costume!”

The Seven Deadly Sins are an original series featuring character designs (I think) based on, well, the seven deadly sins from Christianity. Asmodeus and Leviathan have already been released and Lucifer was third. Satan, Mammon, Beelzebub, and Belphegor are the characters left for Orchid Seed & collab companies to finalize. I can’t wait on Beelzebub ^^ (Click here to see all the Seven Deadly Sins character lineup)
And yes, they are all cast-off figures.

lubox1

lubox2

lubox3

lucompa

Based on her original illustration, I think the figure looks quite similar to the art. If I were to nit-pick on minor things, I’d say that her facial expression looks slightly different (the eyes perhaps?). On the figure, she looks a tiny bit more fierce. Also, the color of her fluttering petal skirt has changed to a more royal purple kind of color rather than ice blue gradient. Her skirt also looks a little more flatter and less puffed up compared to the illustration. I’m glad they were faithful to color the blue outline of her feathers because it looks so much better than just plain white, if they overlooked that detail. Oh, and her hair looks more weighed down due to gravity. Overall, I think she looks great still!

luspin

lubox4Now, she does come in parts!

When you open the box, you’ll find out that her left arm has been detached (and left with no protection…?) along with one of her her knee-pads. I found that slightly odd…

Anyways, I’ve managed to remove every single part of the figure and you should have all these parts.
No worries, this was probably the smoothest and easiest cast-off figure I’ve ever had. Further in my review when I’ll be talking about her naked body, I’ll be describing how to deconstruct/construct Lucifer.

luface2

luface1

luface3

I think Lucifer is the pinkest skin toned among all my girls. I find that interesting because most of my girls are either pale white or yellow-toned.

Anyways, Lucifer has very very VERY piercing eyes! Almost frightening. I’m not quite sure what she’s trying to express, but it seems to be a mixture of delightness and deliriousness.

Her eyes are crisp. Her blush is just right. And after I’ve taken pictures, I’ve just noticed that she has pointy ears xD The only thing I would have to complain about is her mouth. The white paint on her teeth is very smudgy and badly done and I’m quite disappointed by it. I’ve seen pictures of other girls made by Orchid Seed and their lips are usually perfect.  At least her lip color is lovely and painted nicely.

luhair1

If you look again the pictures of her face, her bangs are nicely sculpted. They’re not as pointy and sharp as I’d like them to be, but her bangs are still above average quality.
The seam lines all around her crown, side hair, and horns are tight and looks natural. The only mishap is that on Lucifer’s right horn, a little bit of paint has been chipped off (you may be able to see it, hard to describe that spot).
luhair2

luhair3

So, what’s going on here, you say?

I guess Orchid Seed couldn’t manage to stick a strand of hair back in her head after they began to mass produce her. Two strands of hair near her head just hangs out like that. No, they’re not fragile at all, in fact, they are securely glued to the other pieces of hair in the middle so there’s nothing to worry about. Still, this was a great disappointment in my view.

luhair4

luhair5

Nonetheless, I think the company did a great job at painting her hair and sculpting each strand without too many noticeable hair seams. There are different shades of blond here and there and it makes her look very real and dynamic. Also, at first I did not really like her many strands of hair flowing in one direction because I sort of thought it looked kind of stiff and messy. But after staring at her for a long time, I think they did a decent job. To be able to coordinate so many strands of hair coming out from her ponytail requires a lot of work and attention. Not to mention, they’ve managed to maintain the sharpness of her hair ends which is great.
I guess I’m just used to female figures with hair that are just very thick and voluminous, which is a lot easier to sculpt and looks cleaner in general.

lubody1

lubody2

I absolutely love her clothing!

She looks very feminine with all those feathers and fluttery petals (wow look at the form of that skirt!) hanging from her waist, yet she also has this bad-ass vibe coming out from her leather straps, buckles, and metallic armguard and boots. Not to mention, she’s wielding a very large cursed-looking spear! Another cool detail is that Lucifer has an arm wearing a metallic glove armor that holds her spear, as if her spear is either so special or strong that she needed a matching glove to go with it (along with her shoes too, I suppose).
And this is the kind of [diverse and/or complex] female character design that rubs me in the right way ^^

Oh, you know what else looks great? Her pose.
She does really look so high, mighty, and proud, just like her base depicts. No fear. Pride.

lubody3

Her skull collar is really awesome. Pretty much her statement piece here!
And yes, her breasts are massive. To be honest, I find them to be a little to far apart from each other… I guess I prefer breasts to be a little smaller and a tighter cleavage (with less space in the middle) though in reality, I think most women have a wide cleavage. Well, that’s a whole other topic ^^;;

lubody4

Look at those buckles! Very nice details.
Also, pay attention to the cloth folds on her waist. Very natural looking, as if she was really wearing a perfectly fitted leather top/bustier.

lubody5

Minor paint problem here on the left circle thing. Other than that, everything else looks fine.
I appreciate the detailed folds near her private area and thighs, but it looks a little bit exaggerated since the cloth (or petal?) is really not resting on her body, but rather, flying away from her. Unnatural if you ask me. I would have made the fold more “looser”, like just one slash/fold across.

lubody6

lubody7

Look at that color transition from light blue to a royal purple (royal blue? Blurple?) ! Very beautiful.
But, uh oh, another Orchid Seed quality control blunder here. *frown*

lubody8

Her spear friend here is very nicely made too. They did not forget the details on it! The wings, the multi-faceted bead, the bone-like cracks all over, red cross icon on the skull, and the shading are perfect.

lubody9

Lucifer’s tail! So cute, xD I personally would have wanted it to be a little longer.

lubody10

Her hand looks like a hand, yay! Also, her palm is detailed. Like regular gloves, you can see the lines in her palm (sorry, my camera had a hard time capturing those details, so no photo ;o )
lubody11

Another frustration I’m having with this figure. Not sure if I’m the only one experiencing this, but her left arm is kind of loose and hangs out like that. It’s still secure and able to support her giant spear, but it still worries me a lot. Who knows if, with time, her arm will just fall off thanks to gravity and… *hears sound of plastic falling on hard surface*

~* UPDATE *~
So, my husband accidentally knocked her a little when he was using my desk while I was away (yes, I left Lucifer on my desk because I wanted to re-organize my display cabinet) and he had forgotten to tell me about it (or didn’t know about it…) I was actually surprised and a little horrified to see that her arm came off. Luckily there were no damages (I think I had another figure next to her so it probably cushioned the head of the staff). Can’t remember exactly the details since this happened two days ago and all I was thinking about was inspecting her to see if there were any damages.
Yup. Be careful. The arm does come off.

– Speaking of arms falling off, the arm is removable for easy installation of her giant spear.
– Her head also comes off for convenience (though not necessary if I recall correctly).
– Also, she has removable knee pads. Just slide them in and out, very smooth!

lubody12

Alright, we’re getting near the NSFW parts. *warning*

[ … yeah that’s right. Close tab/window if you need! Or your door. ]

So, these are her breast cups. They’re very easy to remove and install thanks to some sticker inside. However, this method of putting back her top on worries me. What if the sticker dries up with time, gets dirty, or falls off the cup? Orchid Seed did not provide extra stickers so, yeah, I guess we’ll have to use tape or something then 😛
The cups are very convenient yet not very efficient. I wished there was another way to do this. I really don’t trust that sticky glue.

And don’t worry about confusing which cup belongs to which breast. You see the ridges on her top and the indents on her cup? They match up like puzzle pieces. You’ll see.

lubody13

To take off her skirt, all you have to do is to remove her torso gently. Then, you’ll be able to lift off her petal skirt and the individual petal at the center. As you can see in the picture above, when you want to put that one petal back, all you have to do is to plug the “head” in and that’s it.

lubody14

Her nipples are cute xD Soft peachy shiny nipples. Not sure if it’s just me, but I’m starting to see a trend of similar nipples… Maybe I just don’t own enough cast off figures to find out whether or not brown nipples exist out there on plastic.

Breasts look great from this angle.

lubody15

Another quality control issue? Yep. I guess the employees were too tired and didn’t see this random black paint scratch here.

lubody16

I find it nice that the skin around her really tight bikini bottom looks really soft and supple. Most figures I see don’t really have this “tight and squeeze” kind of feeling around the butt and thigh area (and yet not too over-exaggerated *cough Super Sonico cough*).

The shading on her skin is just right.

lubody17

I can see the minor detail on her back, which is the slight skin fold because her torso is rotating to the right.

And we get to see some more tight thigh/butt squeezing thanks to her small bikini bottom.
I wished her butt had more definition, though. I guess it looks more realistic this way; not everyone has defined butt ^^;;

lubase1

lubase2

I found it really neat that her base has a different front and back, meaning that you are able to display her base backwards if you wish 😛

Another cool thing? Her base is unique and makes Lucifer and her fellow friends look very prestigious and mighty. Imagine having all seven of these ladies lined up on your shelf? Very nice, right? Just like trophies.

lubase3

After looking at the instruction sheet, that’s when I realized that you can pop the lid off so you could, I guess, display her base differently.
You could also hide some things in there. *tosses a couple candies in the base*

lubase4

lubase5

And yes, she fits perfectly on her base with no problems!

Now, Lucifer and friends are not cheap. To collect all seven of these ladies, I think your total is going to be around $900 USD o_o;; I am not planning on getting all seven so I guess I spared my wallet a little (while still buying other figures, hah!)

I only have one Orchid Seed figure and she was very well sculpted and painted with very little to no issues. So with that, I sort of had very high hopes for Lucifer. I guess I held my expectations a little too high because Lucifer does have a little bit of problems, mainly paint issues, a scratch, and a strand of hair that was detached from her head.

Interestingly, Lucifer is the only figure that is being handled solely by Orchid Seed. Her other friends are being collaborated with Hobby Japan and Amakuni so the quality might be actually better than Lucifer. I’ve seen pictures of Leviathan and Asmodeus and they look near-perfect. Though, pictures tend to show the best side of figures (even in figure review blogs).

But do I regret buying her? No. I don’t regret. Despite her flaws (biggest drawback for me would be her teeth) I think she is a well made figure (with mostly a lot of details) that doesn’t look boring at all. I can see myself selling Lucifer maybe some time in the future though if I’m running low in space. Admittedly, Lucifer doesn’t really fit my collection. But I am planning on purchasing more horned/devilish figures so, we’ll see.

So, do you need Lucifer standing high and proud on your desk or shelf?
I think having just Lucifer in your collection stands out already (and best if you get the entire series). She is definitely not like your other girls. If you find her character design very likable, then good luck finding her in the after-market. She’s pretty much sold out at major stores ^^;;

============================

Sculpt finish: 10/10
Sculpt mold: 8.9/10 (that loose arm and detached hair strand)
Paint: 8.9/10 (random tiny black speck on her back and scratch on her skirt, etc)
Representation of character: 10/10 (according to illustration)

Explanation of my rating system:

“Sculpt finish” specifically refers to the finish of the figure. Whether it’s perfect, smooth, rough or sandy.

“Sculpt mold” determines whether everything is sculpted to how it’s supposed to look. At its best, hair should have clean lines and pointy edges. Fingers do not look melted and feet do not look horrendous. Arms and legs should have definition and not look like straight piece of wood (unless it’s the style of the art). Also, seam or mold lines should not be apparent as well.

“Paint” is pretty self explanatory. Paint should go wherever they were supposed to be painted on and should not have any spillovers.

“Representation of character” looks at whether the company and/or artist has accurately represented your character. Do the eyes seem off? Is that hair color right? Did they forget something on the outfit?

IMG_2484

IMG_2499

IMG_2512

IMG_2521

IMG_2533

2 thoughts on “[NSFW] 1/8 Lucifer from The Seven Deadly Sins by Orchid Seed review

  1. Excellent review! My Lucifer should arrive in the next week or so. I’m even more excited to see her after seeing your photos. She looks just like her prototype! I love the photos you have of her on a pink background.

    Lucifer’s outfit is the main reason I bought her. It’s deliciously detailed and gorgeous to a tee. Plus I’m a real suck for wings of any kind. The gradient on her skirt looks lovely too. I didn’t even know she had a tail until I read your review!

    I’m rather disconcerted to see joint problems with Lucifer’s arm. I had the same problem with Leviathan’s arms, especially when I displayed her cast-off. I hope this isn’t a trend for the Sins line. It would be unfortunate if such a gorgeous bunch of figures were brought down by uncouth seams. The QC issues you had with your Lucifer is unfortunate as well, but I guess some things can’t be helped with a mass produced figure. I’ve had a mixed bag with Orchid Seed. Some of their products are absolutely perfect, while others are…well, less so.

    • Ah! I forgot to dissect her prototype images! Glad to hear that Orchid Seed managed to stay faithful to their original sculpt (I think that’s quite commendable — who knows what happens when plastic is being churned out of machines every second.)

      I think one of the main reasons people bought Lucifer was because of her outfit xD I cannot think of another figure with a similar character design. I really like how Lucifer kind of represents two sides of a coin: elegant, girly, yet shows signifiers of strength through some of her tough armor and giant spear. Of course, many others simply buy Lucifer for the sake of completing the series.
      There’s actually one weird thing I just realized. Her tail is fake, lol! It comes off when you remove her skirt xD

      I did not know other Sins girls had some problems as well. That’s a shame.
      When you receive Lucifer, make sure her arm is not loose. Would hate to hear that someone broke their arm/spear just because the joint was loose.

      Hehe, well this is my second Orchid Seed figure. My hopes have not been crushed since their figures are still above average quality, but I’m really looking forward to their future releases. We’ll see how Flandre Scarlet turns out when I’ll be getting her in October. *impatiently waits*

Leave a Reply

