1/7 Hatsune Miku ~7th Dragon 2020~ review by Max Factory

HMintro

I swore that I won’t be getting another Miku. Nope. Nah. Maybe. Okay. One more, but certainly not the last… wait — what?

And so I gave in to another variation of Hatsune Miku. I’m not a huge fan of her songs, but I’m a fan of her designs. And a huge one of this figure!

hIE1360471813

I_Kyubey1375356913

When I saw the original illustration, I thought to myself, oh alright she looks kind of cool. Let’s wait for the prototype.  When it was revealed, I was instantly in love with her and there are many reasons why (other than Max Factory being able to replicate the illustration perfectly!) First, blue. The blue hues are so attractive in conjunction with the white and blacks used in this figure. Plus, Miku looks so cheerful!

HMbox

HMbox2

I wasn’t impressed with the box, though. It’s very boring, in my opinion. I suppose it has a futuristic feeling to it (intentional, maybe?) but I feel like they could have made something more striking for such a beautiful figure.

HMface

Let’s start by analyzing her face.

Some people disliked her eyes looked. I could see why; most eyes should have black lashes and contour, but Miku is pretty much just blue everywhere. So maybe that sort of made her appear haunted or a little souless. Hey, I like it. It’s unique. I also loved how her mouth was sculpted. It’s an actual mouth with its cavity! A tongue, teeth, and lips. Plus, Max Factory painted her with a little lip gloss with is an extra lovely touch with the perfect nude color. Love it.

Alright, let’s move on talking about her impressive blue hair!

HMhair

 

As you can probably see, Max Factory paid a lot of attention to her hair. There are multiple hues of blue along with a little transparency and it makes Miku look very attractive. The feathers around her twin tail are nice (though it could be pointier in my opinion) and her headband does not have any paint bleeds.

HMhair1

 

The hair line due to her hair being parted in two has a detailed sharp sculpt. So crisp! Not to mention, her flowery neck choker thing (lack of vocab, ha!) is so detailed.

Also, Miku’s back is sculpted as well. It’s not just a line at her spine and shoulder blade. It actually looks like skin being folded where it should be.

HMhair2

In this picture, you can clearly see the different shades and hues of blue. It makes her hair look so attractive!

Additionally, the sculpt and design of her hair is very interesting. Recently, we’ve been seeing ten thousand strands of hair flying in suspension on figures to show the skill of the artist (like the Racing Miku 2012 you see on the bottom left corner). But for this one, we get a solid chunk, twisted in a very clean fashion while also being able to make a statement. Almost like a ribbon, really. This hair looks great.  Oh, and the transparent tips? Love that too!

HMbody1

Miku has a really pretty outfit here. Ruffles, corset, ribbons, and ballet shoes? Sign me up!

HMbody2

A lot of details on her corset. The paint job and sculpt is perfect.

HMbody3

She’s got this furry belt around her lower hip, layered with a blue and white open skirt while wearing a black puffy mini skirt underneath. Interesting combo, huh? Look at the details on her black skirt, though!

HMbody4

HMbody5

Miku has beautiful skinny legs as usual, wearing fancy blue ballet shoes and black thigh highs.

HMbody6

Still looks great from the back. I still can’t lay off my eyes off the details on her white dress and the way how her hair is twisted and curled.

HMbody7

Again, great paint jobs with the different hues of blue and small cloth folds on her back.

HMbody8

Blue painted nails! I think it would have looked cooler if they were black, though.

HMbody9

 

This picture was to show the transparency of her hair, white fur, and white dress.

All in all, Max Factory continues to be one of my favorite figure companies. They always manage to put so much love into their figures, appropriating details where they should be. The clothing, the faces, the hair, the body, and the poses.

“But I already have so many Mikus…” and you can never have enough, right? Alright, join me here with a little thinking. Does this Miku look different enough to justify your purchase? Did you like the game? Or perhaps, like me, you just really like the way how she looks overall? Depending on how you answered your own questions, Miku might appear somewhere in your wishlist. Good news is, her price is dropping (drat — and I bought her at original price) because she’s expensive and the shipping costs a liver.

============================

Sculpt finish: 10/10
Sculpt mold: 9.5/10
Paint: 10/10
Representation of character: 10/10 (An exact replica of the illustration!)

Explanation of my rating system:

“Sculpt finish” specifically refers to the finish of the figure. Whether it’s perfect, smooth, rough or sandy.

“Sculpt mold” determines whether everything is sculpted to how it’s supposed to look. At its best, hair should have clean lines and pointy edges. Fingers do not look melted and feet do not look horrendous. Arms and legs should have definition and not look like straight piece of wood (unless it’s the style of the art). Also, seam or mold lines should not be apparent as well.

“Paint” is pretty self explanatory. Paint should go wherever they were supposed to be painted on and should not have any spillovers.

“Representation of character” looks at whether the company and/or artist has accurately represented your character. Do the eyes seem off? Is that hair color right? Did they forget something on the outfit?

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “1/7 Hatsune Miku ~7th Dragon 2020~ review by Max Factory

  1. I do like this one! It’s one of the more interesting Miku’s I’ve seen. ^^ The eyes don’t bother me though. It suits her style very well. I’m impressed by the smooth yet detailed sculpting in places.

    Big big plus that it’s an exact copy of the illustration. ^^

    Nice buy! (Almost envious~)

    • Yup, she is certainly a Miku that looks interesting! Max Factory always manages to impress me, though. But who knows if the next Max Factory figure I’ll own will have some noticeable flaws? Don’t wanna jinx myself there, ha. Is this Miku in your wishlist? Funny thing is, I planned on selling her in the near future because of budget planning/constraints, but, I completely fell in love after taking her out of the box. She’s absolutely stunning.

Leave a Reply

