[NSFW] Parabox + Obitsu: Haul & Review

IMG_4588

I came across Parabox’s website a long time ago without interest. Custom dolls, at the time, weren’t in my wishlist at all since I was a beginner doll collector. As time passes by, curiosity piqued my interest in Parabox.

They’ve got a lot of heads (mostly unpainted), bodies (Obitsu brand bodies), hair, eyes, clothes, and random accessories to choose from. You really can create your dream doll or your anime-inspired character doll.

Warning!
The following review will include naked doll bodies down below.

Hevlaska5731434719181

Seeing this picture displaying her Kudryavka Noumi dolls from a fellow MFC’er made me want a Parabox doll.
The one on the left is a Parabox head with an Obitsu body. The one on the right is a Dollfie Dream.

I didn’t have a girl in mind, so I picked whatever hair and eye I desired with a body similar to a Pure Neemo S (PNS).
Parabox doesn’t make bodies, so instead, they sell Obitsu branded bodies. I thought a 23 cm hard bust would be perfect but I was wrong. The body was too small unfortunately to fit the PNS clothes.

I ordered all the parts I wanted on Parabox and patiently waited for my parts to arrive ^^

First, let’s explore the body.
You can pretty much order Obitsu bodies anywhere like Parabox, Mimiwoo, or Ebay.

20150707_131136 20150707_131415

The body I chose was a 23 cm hard bust with white skin.
It came with a magnet base so you can pose without the need for a support rod. This becomes useless if your doll will wear shoes.

A regular model comes with different neck pegs (probably to accomodate to various head sizes) and extra hands.

I think it’s imperative to understand the difference between hard and soft bust bodies as I had some confusion going on.
(By the way, they also have a lot of body heights from 11 cm to 60 cm or so.)

tn_21cm23cm_body

The 4 on the left are hard busts, male and female respectively. They are also known as the normal body type.

The 3 on the right are soft busts (also known as SBH) which appears to be showing the 3 different bust sizes (small, medium, and large).
Soft busts means that the torso/stomach area is soft and bendable. That way, your doll can bend further. Soft busts are also good for bikinis and clothing that are showing around the stomach.
tn_25cm_femalebody

This picture showcases the two different skin tones: white and flesh.
20150707_13104520150707_131056

My order also came with an instruction for the bodies. It was very helpful!

IMG_4600 IMG_4601 20150707_135146 20150707_133743

IMG_4593 IMG_4598

These pictures were taken to shown what the body looks like when articulated and posed. Not too bad!

She can bend her knees all the way which is awesome because all my other action figures and doll bodies can’t bend like Obitsu’s. The Obitsu body can also rotate her shoulders and arms just fine.
Articulation wise, the Obitsu is the winner.

The only really bad thing I can think about my Obitsu body is that the head cannot look upwards. I don’t know if it’s a 23 cm body flaw or what… and I did not experiment with the other neck peg sizes. I do believe the bigger body sizes do not have this issue.

Aesthetically, I prefer the Pure Neemo body. Their knees are cuter (you don’t see weird knee caps) and their hands and feet are very defined and real. (Unfortunately, the Obitsu hands have a lot of mold lines.)
Also, the Pure Neemo body is softer (matte).

14393248702_5d9b5c9a41_b

I found a picture of an Obitsu vs Pure Neemo comparison. You can click here to view their Flickr for more pictures.

I also found a Dollfie Dream vs a 48 cm Obitsu body comparison. Click here to read their review.

Enough of the body!
Let’s move on to her lovely face ^^

20150707_131453 20150707_131535 20150707_131546

I was surprised to see this plastic clear ring that’s supposed to go underneath the neck peg-cone-thing.
The purpose is to secure the head while keeping it in place while it’s being rotated.
20150707_131636

The head I ordered was a “Petite Hime” with face-up (not sure if it’s applied by Parabox artists).
This head fits 21, 23, 25, and 27 cm bodies.

By the way, their website is very easy to use and beginner friendly.
There are tons of information and you will not feel lost at all. They tell you exactly which size eyes and body to buy to fit certain bodies.
2102-banar

On their site, they showcase the Petite Hime (along with other similar sized heads) head with different face-ups. They’re really cute!
Sadly the one and only face-up you can buy is very basic.

Alright. Let’s fit the eyes into the head!
I bought three 12 mm eyes: green, yellow, and dark blue.

20150707_131736 20150707_131749 20150707_132853

Unfortunately the eyes are pixelated/grainy. I wish they had a better quality picture to print on paper. I guess for $7, it’s not too bad. I just have high expectations.

The site has different eye sizes, colors, and styles.

A_s

Iris A eyes.

b

Iris B eyes.

Here’s an S-Angela head with some of the eyes displayed as an example.

A-01

Iris A.

B-02

Iris B.

03

Realistic eyes.

And these are the ones I bought:

IMG_4605

Iris A in green.

IMG_4611

Iris A eye in yellow.

IMG_4615

Iris B eyes in blue.

Again, I’d like to point out the pixelated eyes. I wish they were higher quality!

Other than that, the eyes are just fine. Since there’s a clear dome over the eye, it reflects light into the eye and keeps it well light and vibrant, almost like glass eyes.

Anyway, it’s really interesting how different she can look by just changing the eyes. Any eyes looks great on this Petite Hime head.
Would be really cute if you had ordered two Petite Hime heads and have sisters.

20150707_131933 20150707_133343You first put the eyes together (they come split in two) and fit them into the eye sockets. It’s really easy. The only issue would be for people who have larger hands because you are working in a tight spot.

Also, before you close up your head, don’t forget to insert the plastic clear ring and the body’s neck. By the way, you will need a tiny screw driver for the neck.

The following pictures will show her head in different angles.

20150707_140800 20150707_140814

IMG_4579 IMG_4581 IMG_4582I’d say she looks great and adorable! *thumbs up*

20150707_134029

By the way, these are the two 5 inch wigs that I bought.
A silver wavy hair (more like a very light blonde) and a chocolate (warm dark brown) straight hair wig.

IMG_4577

And this is how she looks like with everything set up.
The magnetic feet still works with socks!

Unfortunately, the 23 cm body I bought was too small to fit the Pure Neemo S clothes. In actuality, the Obitsu body was kind of between a XS and a S.
The next Obitsu body I’ll try will be a 25 cm S soft bust in white skin. Hopefully, that will be closer to the Pure Neemo S body.
IMG_4635

This is to showcase the other eye and wig that I bought with a Pure Neemo S costume and a Parabox shoe that was very high quality.

So cute!

It’s the same head but with different hair and eyes.

You can create any look you want! The first girl with the silver hair looks really soft and innocent. The brown haired one looks more energetic and childish
IMG_4629 IMG_4626Overall, I had a great experience with Parabox. They have good quality wigs and face-ups for the heads, but the eyes are a bit lacking (wish the prints were more detailed.)

The Obitsu bodies that they sell are very fun to play with. You can pose them in almost any pose you’d want them to be. The extra hands they come with is also a great bonus, unlike Pure Neemo or Pullip bodies.

4 thoughts on “[NSFW] Parabox + Obitsu: Haul & Review

  1. Hmmmm i want one now… Very helpful review! I’d also want a body similar to siZe of a pure neemo s, that way I wouldn’t have to purchase a new wardrobe.

    • I’m really glad you found it helpful! I understand your concerns. I’ll certainly let you know and edit my review whenever I’ll get the new Obitsu body ^^

Leave a Reply

